Hill Country Memorial Ratings and Reviews
Learn More About HCM Wellness Center or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wellness Center

Wellness Center

The Wellness Center provides a broad range of health education, fitness and exercise programs to help you and your family maintain a healthy life-style
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Wellness Center
Review 1 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent staff at the Wellness Center

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
marm
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The instructors at the Wellness Center for classes and private training are well prepared and have excellent knowledge of the skills instructed, anatomy used, and potential injury with each skill. They take special effort in preparing for class with the skills changing to provide needed challenges, the music selected, the equipment used, and the information shared. HCM should be very proud of the staff at the Wellness Center. They are all friendly and willing to help in any way. They are excellent instructor who make working out there a pleasure
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, well prepared for class instruction
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Patient ExperienceAugust 20, 2014
Thank you so very much in sharing your experience regarding our Wellness instructors. They are the best of the best, and we really appreciate hearing about them. Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Air smells of chlorine in pool area

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bluebell
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Windows need to be all opened in the morning, as otherwise the chlorine smell is overwhelming and unhealthy. My nose ran for hours after swimming there. Also, why is the dressing room freezing cold? Also a waste of air conditioning.
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Patient ExperienceJuly 7, 2014
Thank you for helping us address your concerns and we will pass these along to our Director. Thanks again,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First visit was outstanding

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lucky Lindy
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was greeted warmly (cold front just blew in) by front desk professional, given a grand tour and provided with all information to make an educated decision. I will be signing up today.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, asked good questions
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Patient ExperienceNovember 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Wellness Center for your health programs. We're glad that we could provide educational information to you. Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
"Wet" customer
from Fredericskburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort of Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I think that it is fantastic for our Wellness Center to provide a facility for our local swim team, however, I do have some concerns regarding this. The average age of the young ladies that are on the team is approximately 10 years, so neatness and orderliness traits have not been fully developed. Perhaps Coach Carr could request the girls to stack their personal belongings in such a way that the other women using the locker room will have room for their belongings. And, as impossible as it might be, it would be great if there was at least one area that was left "dry", so that we could change clothes without getting everything wet. Love, love love the water aerobics classes!!!
Pros: Friendly Staff, great water classes
Cons: wet and messy locker room
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Patient ExperienceOctober 1, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us regarding the Wellness Ctr. We've notified our Wellness Director to look into your concerns. We do appreciate hearing about any improvements to make us better. Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor condition of locker room!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nick
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would someone PLEASE take an interest in the deplorable condition of the Wellness Center pool Men's locker room? I've complained to staff until I'm blue in the face. You guys need me to buy you some new shower curtains or a few S/S shower hooks to hold up the torn curtains? Be happy to. Rusted hardware and paint peeling is just part of the problem. Place looks downright unsanitary. Surely not becoming of a fine city like Fredericksburg or the Foundation.
Another beef which is a statement about the care - hair dryer was pulled a month ago with no attempt at replacement, just lip service and a deflection - "the other locker room has one"..
Please, just clean up the pool locker room!
Having said that, staff, overall facility and equipment condition are excellent.
Thanks
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Patient ExperienceSeptember 16, 2013
Thank you for letting us know of those areas we need to address. We will ask the Director to pursue possible corrections.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A luxury in our town.

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michael
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't give all the credit for my recovery to the wellness center, but would like to let them know how big a roll they played. Thanks to all the staff for helping and pushing me to be a healthier stronger, better person. The facility is very easy to use and I especially enjoy the pool. I can come in anytime to swim and that is the best because my schedule is never the same. The different range of personalities of the staff is nice also. Some are easy going and some are very intense, but make no mistake they are there for you. They will drop everything to help and thats a rare thing these days. I can't imagine what kind of health I would have without the WC. I would like to see more money given to them for repair,upgrades and expansion. New equipment is always a motivation.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, caring staff
Cons: needs more room
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceAugust 14, 2013
Thank you for telling and sharing your experience. We very much appreciate hearing from our guests and patients as to how well all went. Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am retiring here due to this wellness center!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Water Babe
from Mission
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I appreciate that you provide guest passes for visitors to enjoy your remarkable center. From the first day I arrived to inquire to the last day I attended my H2O water aerobics class, I have felt valued and accepted as one of your own. You offer a wonderful range of activity and every staff and leader ALWAYS had a smile on their face. I plan to retire here and join full time! You have even thought to include shampoo and body soap in your showers AND little bags to put our wet clothes in. HCM Wellness Center is a center who cares about their clients and their health. See you soon.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, caring
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceJuly 16, 2013
Thank you for your honesty and we look forward to seeing you all the time. Please let us know if there is anything we can help you with. Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my experience at the wellness center is awesome!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
jennifer
from frederickeburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have been a member of the wellness center for YEARS...and i don't mean four or five. my daughter grew up in the playroom, so that i could have the luxury of going to many of the classes offered in the evening...she is now 14. the wellness center has always, and will always continue to provide a place of strength, refuge, solitude,community and well being for me and my daughter...you see, when i am healthy and strong in my mind and body, so is she. many other places have been "available" to go"work out" , they come and go with the times and the fads...never really offering any type of what i consider "work in". the wellness center has committed themselves to and provided an organization where staff are not just staff, they are people who are truly genuine. classes are gatherings. and a building, well...that is a structure that has provided mass amounts of wellness still yet to be determined.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, variety of classes, variety of weight areas, variety in age groups, variety in people and groups
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceJuly 16, 2013
Thank you for sticking with us and watching your daughter grow in strength.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wellness Center staff - Simply the Best!

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Byron
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have worked out almost all my life and at the the Wellness Center for the past several years. All the trainers there go out of their way to be professional, helpful, and on the "cutting edge" of physical training and wellness. About 18 months ago, I began participating in the triathlon class offered. Under the direction of the class leader I lost 32 pounds. I am 55 and in better physical condition now than I was in my 30's.
All the trainers at the Wellness Center exhibit unique positive qualities. They all go out of their way to make sure new class members feel welcomed and equipped for the workout. They all seem to have a passion for wellness. The classes are fun, but it is apparent that they know exactly what they are doing when they lead the classes.
The lead trainer and leader of the triathlon class particularly shows a passion for excellence, a sincerity of purpose, and a vast knowledge and experience level. I am an ex-college athlete. I have worked with a variety of trainers over the years, including university trainers and a former Olympian. Honestly, none compare to the lead trainer at the Wellness Center. She is simply the BEST in the business....period.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, strong focus, knowledgeable trainers
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. Peterson Director - Customer ExperienceJuly 16, 2013
Thank you for telling us how well we can provide support and strength to you and congratulations on your triathlon training.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

There are Angels @ The Wellness Center!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike S.
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've held several gym memberships over the years. And my experience @ The Wellness Center is in short, awesome! From the Cross Training, Cycling, Rowing and Yoga classes to the cardio/weight rooms and the lap pool, the Wellness Center provides an exceptional value in Fredericksburg. The Staff is friendly, helpful. and well trained in not only the aspects of Personal Training and Physical Therapy but also in First Aid and CPR. Everytime I walk in the front door I feel welcomed and safe!
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, skilled firstaid/cpr staff
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceMarch 29, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that your experience made the difference in your gym membership. We appreciate knowing and hearing how well their performance continues. Thanks again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fantastic experience!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
from Fredericskburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The In-rowing leader inspires participants to collectively push beyond what we know we can in an energetic encouraging environment. Great way to start the day!
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, energetic exercise leaders
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceMarch 29, 2013
Yes, they are known to push you faster and harder and it sure can make the difference. Thank you for sharing this experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Being a member at the Wellness Center is a joy

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
eddie
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have enjoyed my membership at the Wellness Center so much because, while the class instructors are positive, friendly and helpful, I would never work myself as hard as they work me! With their guidance, I have attained what I feel to be the best finess level of my life.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, positive atmosphere, quality instruction
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperiecneMarch 25, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that the Wellness team continues to make everyone "hurt". Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My experience at HCMH was life changing

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
das Bull
from Center Point
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dietitian provided an outstanding explanation and description of what is causing my blood sugar to be high and stay high. I was very impressed; it was so easy to understand that I was able to explain it to my spouse. Now both of us are following the dietitian's eating recommendations.
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceFebruary 4, 2013
We're glad that we could provide you the information needed to help in one's eating habits. Thanks again for sharing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Flipper
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The programs and exercise equipment available at the Wellness Center are incredible and worthwhile. What a blessing for our small town and neighboring counties! The staff is friendly and responsive. Thank you very much.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, professional, varied services
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceOctober 26, 2012
Thanks for sharing your story regarding our Wellness Ctr. and staff. We want each guest to feel comfortable and relaxed. Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the Wellness Center

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Swimmer
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use the swimming pool at the Wellness Center. I especially love the ramp (instead of steps) for entering and exiting the pool. Actually, both swim and therapy pools have ramps.
The facility is clean and well kept.
The Staff is courteous and very helpful; I have never seen a frown on a Staff member-they seem to love their job, which says a lot about the organization as a whole.
The rates are affordable.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceOctober 26, 2012
Thank you for letting us know the ease and cleanliness of our pool facility. We want to make each guest comfortable and appreciated. Thanks again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall experience was good except for FOX News

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buddy
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The only negative experience is the choice of TV programs. Fox News runs continually. Regardless of my political affilation, Fox News is so negative it counters the good effect of working out. Plus, there are mostly older guys that come in and want the TV's to be on all sports (or Fox) while they sit on the cycles barely moving and talk negatively about our president and gov. Not sure why they don't just go to DQ because they are not working out. Maybe HCM should open a room just for these guys who want to complain and talk and not work out. It would help open up some of the machines and have a much better atmosphere.
The staff is great.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceSeptember 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your issues. We apologize for the inconvienance of the programming. Anyone can request the channels to be changed.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The golf program is exceptional!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
David P
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Wellness Center golf program is exceptional and a big city luxury so nice to have in our small town. Whether indoors or out the program provides the perfect professional coach. The style, patience, experience and talent of the Professional makes the experience ideal for adults or children--beginners or experts alike. And with his indoor setup at the Wellness Center, the teaching professional staff has a whole new set of tools and measures and metrics to try to improve my game and my knowledge and appreciation for the game even further. I anxiously await the day my young children can begin to benefit from this program and this Professiional instructor and coach--someone I wish would have been there to teach me as a child. I have already made our school aware of theWellness Center golf programs and expect many of our children will have that advantage to a start in golf the right way! I couldnt be any more pleased with the program--and it just keeps getting better! The quality and consistency of the program and professional instructor only trend to the positive and continue to grow with me.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, fantastic service mentality
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceJuly 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of our golf program. What has been brought to our community is a great luxury with a professional coach as well. Thanks again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Friendliness of staff

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Concerned
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort of Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In the past 6 months I have been very disappointed in the friendliness of the Wellness Center Staff ( since the front desk staff has been rearranged). It is moslty the younger staff ( highschool/ college) when you check in at the desk or at the Kids day camp at the park. I rarely recieve a hello or a smile. Often you are completely ignored. Today I took my child for the first time to the kids camp and introduced my daughter to the check in staff- the girl did not reciprocate and introduce herself to me or my child. She stayed seated and did not offer to orient my daughter to where things needed to go. My daughter ( 8 years old) was obviously nervous not knowing anyone and she did not offer to introduce herself or my daughter to any of the other staff or kids around. I feel that a friendlier, respectful approach would make for happier costumers.
Pros: Clean
Cons: friendliness
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceOctober 4, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. We apologize for the bad reception you recieved upon your arrival. We have discussed this with the Director and she will correct the problem. Thanks again for your honesty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alexi-Kata
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explanations From Staff and Physicians 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I think the wellness is great. Now everyone can afford to stay fit. The clases are also awesome. Thanks Wellness Center.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean, great equitpment
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExprienceMay 23, 2012
Our Wellness Center is the fitness of the universe. Thanks for validating our services.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wellness Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great classes

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jennifer S.
from Fredericksburg
,Texas
Staff Friendliness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort of Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All the classes offered are always well attended, not over crowded. The instructors are very knowledgable, patient, and fun.
Pros: Friendly Staff, Clean
Response from Hill Country MemorialMark D. PetersonDirector - Customer ExperienceMay 21, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about our classes and your appreciation for them. Thanks again,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12next>>